A post-birthday post.

Thank you, LINE Camera. Hohoho.

I originally posted this on Facebook to poke fun at myself as a way of thanking people who left greetings on my timeline or who texted me to say happy birthday.. but I seem to be quite fond of it now. Alas, a rare moment where I actually make an effort to look cute, because I don’t really think I am. ^^;;

So the past Sunday, July 6, was my 23rd birthday. I spent it with family, because how else should it be spent? I’ve been in Dumaguete for a little over a month and I seem to still be adjusting. At least things are a little better now than before. I’ve had the opportunity to hang out with my classmates, especially since Saturday night, July 5, was our SU Law Acquaintance Party. It was Coachella-themed, so of course people tried to dress the part. Alas, I am not quite the bohemian-style kind of person, but well. Effort nonetheless.

Let’s just say I took a lot of photos with classmates– mainly selcas. Woop woop.

..including this one! Did the makeup myself. Then I borrowed a feather earring from my classmate Lala during the night. ^^;;

..including this one! Did the makeup myself. Then I borrowed a feather earring from my classmate Lala during the night. ^^;; Dim photo, oops–

After the acquaintance party, we went to EscaΓ±o, which is kind of the central hub of Dumaguete nightlife, if you’re into bars and casual yet cool places to drink and hang out with friends and maybe people-watch if that’s your sort of thing. It was nice to ring in my July 6 with some of my classmates while at Hayahay. I got a lot of hugs andΒ besos and more hugs from them and one of them even bought me a beer (thanks, Joops!) – I never turn down free drinks, heehee. But I think this one was a little special because, well, it’s practically a gift. I was raised to be grateful for things given to me (though sometimes not as satisfied as I would like to be, but grateful nonetheless), and it’s a nice way to live.

I played beer pong for the very first time. I don’t think I”m very good at it.. I would rather watch and drink. Haha!

I got to meet a lot of new people, thanks to a classmate of mine who actually hails from Manila (Mandaluyong to be a little more exact), who I hung out with Friday night, also atΒ Hayahay. I saw them again Saturday night/Sunday early morning, so it was nice to hang out and take a shot or three. Heh.

It was a night to remember.. albeit some in fragmented memories. I think it’s made me appreciate the kind of people I’ve been hanging out with and been going to class with. They’re pretty awesome.

I definitely still miss my Manila family friends, though. They are a part of me that I really can’t just forget – I mean, why would I? They helped mold me into the person I am today.

But Dumaguete is kind of growing on me. I mean.. there was one time I stayed out til 6am and I got to watch the sun rise over the horizon. To see the sunrise in Manila, I’d have to go all the way to SM Mall of Asia or wherever would be best – it would require at least 45 minutes of travel. Whereas in Dumaguete, I’d only have to walk a few meters and sit at the seawall.. and there it is.

 

A Dumaguete sunrise. While my new friends were still chattering about things, I took the time to appreciate the view. Lovely.

A Dumaguete sunrise. While my new friends were still chattering about things, I took the time to appreciate the view. Lovely.

Tomorrow I move into the Nusa Dua dorm, where I’ll finally have my own space to study and sleep and maybe roll around during free time (if I have any lol). I’ll be “neighbors” with a friend, so this will be interesting. Hehe.

Now I think I’ll end this post with a series of photos..

Goofing around with Macho. He and Tilly came over for Sunday lunch~

Goofing around with Macho. He and Tilly came over for Sunday lunch~

Flopped on the mattress and took pictuuuuures.

Flopped on the mattress and took pictuuuuures.

Tilly thought it would be funny to do this.. :/

Tilly thought it would be funny to do this.. :/

At last, a fairly proper birthday photo!

At last, a fairly proper birthday photo!

She saw it on Pinterest and I was persuaded to try it. It hurttttts huhu--

She saw it on Pinterest and I was persuaded to try it. It hurttttts huhu–

We had merienda at Gabby's Bistro. We actually had a pepperoni pizza before this.. but were too hungry to take a photo of that. Oops!

We had merienda at Gabby’s Bistro. We actually had a pepperoni pizza before this.. but were too hungry to take a photo of that. Oops!

Ready to nom on the Oreo Bananza - it's a banana split with Oreos.

Ready to nom on the Oreo Bananza – it’s a banana split with Oreos.

Of course, birthday girl gets a photo too.

Of course, birthday girl gets a photo too.

Monday afternoon, I decided to give myself a post-birthday gift.. by enojying a bowl of bibimbap from KRI. If you know me, then you know I enjoy Korean food. :D

Monday afternoon, I decided to give myself a post-birthday gift.. by enojying a bowl of bibimbap from KRI. If you know me, then you know I enjoy Korean food. πŸ˜€

Then on Tuesday, my friend/classmate Lala gave me this. It was a little cake. ^^

Then on Tuesday, my friend/classmate Lala gave me this. It was a little cake. ^^

My favorite birthday greeting? It comes from Papa.

But out of all the birthday greetings I’ve received within the past few days, the best one still comes from Papa. Choked up the first time I read it.

Leave a Reply

