Reflecting on school, at the edge of summer.

I know I’ve always complained on how law school is so difficult and how much it saps the life out of me and how much I wish I could just be in a different place than were I am. But then again, looking back on this school year.. it’s been pretty fulfilling.

I think the best part of law school is having a really awesome batch of classmates that I see almost every single day. We’re over 40 guys and girls, from varying backgrounds – there are some who’ve been friends since their undergraduate years, some who’ve been dreaming to get into SU Law, some who, like me, have made the big move to Dumaguete from wherever they’ve come from. There are some who left during the first semester, and a few new faces as we entered the second semester. I may not know the specifics on everyone, but it’s nice to see such a melting pot be able to get along under one roof and learn about the fundamentals and even the intricacies of Philippine Law.

I’m fortunate, I think. Though there are visible groups within our large class which have formed together (like cliques of sorts), I don’t think I’ve ever really identified with any specific one. I’m perfectly content with drifting among the groups and not really pinning myself down in a certain group. I’ve always been that way, honestly – a social butterfly, albeit a quiet one at times. It’s nice to get to know different kinds of people. but of course I miss my friends and family back home. (I seem to have a severe, long-termΒ case of homesickness.)

For what it’s worth, it’s been a great school year. I’ve learned a lot about the law, read a lot of books and cases (much to my chagrin), written answers to questions which I never thought I would be answering (or even know the answers to), met inspiring professors, and met the most amazing classmates I could have asked for.

TL;DR: My classmates are the best.

With that, here’s a few photos of our class!

1

Acquaintance party.

The SULaw 2018 girls at the All-University Cheering Competition; we had a chanting stage before the boys' presentations. (P.S. We win our category every single year.)

The SULaw 2018 girls at the All-University Cheering Competition; we had a chanting stage before the boys’ presentations. (P.S. We win our category every single year.)

We usually take a class photo with the professor each time we have our last class for the semester. This one's for Philosophy of Law, with Atty. Mars Maxino.

We usually take a class photo with the professor each time we have our last class for the semester. This one’s for Philosophy of Law, with Atty. Mars Maxino.

During the week-long University Intramurals. This was during one of the Law vs. Engineering games. - needless to say, I've never shouted or cheered so much for any other team in my life.

During the week-long University Intramurals. This was during one of the Law vs. Engineering games. – needless to say, I’ve never shouted or cheered so much for any other team in my life.

Last class of Legal Writing with Atty. Janette Icao.

Last class of Legal Writing with Atty. Janette Icao.

Last class for Obligations and Contracts with Dean Mikhail Maxino. It was a wacky shot but.. I opted for the awkward face welp

Last class for Obligations and Contracts with Dean Mikhail Maxino. It was a wacky shot but.. I opted for the awkward face welp

Last class for Criminal Law 2 with Judge Amelia Lourdes Mendoza. One of the bloodiest classes in terms of recitation and coverage, but a great teacher makes it worth the blood. Haha!

Last class for Criminal Law 2 with Judge Amelia Lourdes Mendoza. One of the bloodiest classes in terms of recitation and coverage, but a great teacher makes it worth the blood. Haha!

Last class for Constitutional Law 2 with Dean Joan Largo from the University of San Carlos. She's an amazing professor, an inspiration!

Last class for Constitutional Law 2 with Dean Joan Largo from the University of San Carlos. She’s an amazing professor, an inspiration!

Aaaaaaaand a photo of my Consti 2 moot court groupmates and I.

Aaaaaaaand a photo of my Constitutional Law 2 moot court groupmates and I.

Throughout this school year, I’ve also learned a lot about myself and what I am capable of. With all due honesty, I’ve never really been confident in myself and in my abilities. I don’t really know why. It’s easy for others to tell me to believe in myself and all that, but sometimes I just.. can’t. It takes time for me – but I never really know how much time I need. Sometimes, I just surprise myself with what I’m able to do. I think it’s a good thing.

People have asked me why I opted to go to Silliman University for law school – it’s ridiculously far, not to mention I barely know anyone (aside from relatives) and barely speak the language (though I think I’ve improved, haha).

The answer is simple – it’s nice to study here. The environment is conducive, the people are more forgiving of appearances (no need to be terribly conscious of how you look – though admittedly it’s nice to look nice once in a while for class), and well.. the sea’s meters away. Sometimes I walk by the seaside boulevard just to look at the water.

But the best thing about studying in a far place is that I always look forward to when I come home, to everyone I know and love and can’t wait to see again.

Tomorrow, I fly home to Manila for the summer break. I have so many things planned and so many places I want to go to and people to see.

Thank you, Dumaguete.
Thank you, SU Law!
See you again in June.

xx Marianne

3 thoughts on “Reflecting on school, at the edge of summer.

Leave a Reply

