I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22– plus 2: My 24th birthday!

Last Monday, 6 July, was my 24th birthday! To be honest I wasn’t expecting much; it was a school day after all.

I decided that I would celebrate it on Sunday instead with my younger sister and nephew. We had a late lunch at Gabby’s Bistro (which I forgot to take photos of.. sorry!), then we were supposed to have dinner at Shakey’s at Robinson’s Dumaguete.

I was supposed to just have dinner with Lucille, so when I arrived at Rob I texted her and told her I was going to withdraw money first, then go to Booksale (I like a good rummage through their stock). She kept texting me saying there were no seats, just a big table for around 10 people. I told her we could just stay at an end. It was a bit of a hassle, honestly.

..until I found out it wasn’t just her who was there! Papa had arrived as a surprise!

Papa was here! Plus Tito Ed too. (They are kind of a package deal HAHAHAHA)

Papa was here! Plus Tito Ed too. (They are kind of a package deal HAHAHAHA)

(Papa is the one in the checkered shirt. Tito Ed is sitting beside me, haha!)

We had a yummy dinner of pizza and chicken at Shakey’s – it’s one of my absolute favorite places to eat. Their recipe hasn’t really changed in what seems like forever, and I like the consistency of it. Always nice to come back to favorites!

Papa also had a HUGE bag of treats for me – he called it my “birthday loot bag”. You know when you attend a kids’ birthday party at Jollibee/McDo/wherever and you get a little loot bag as a souvenir for attending? I got something like that – but it came in a giant Duty Free shopping bag! He went to the U.S. last month for an alumni gathering and I had asked him to buy me a few things, he added some other nice things as well since it was my birthday after all.

Needless to say I was a very happy kid.

Needless to say I was a very happy kid.

As soon as I went home, I laid out the contents of my “big girl” loot bag and took a nice snapshot:

That chocolate bar in the middle isn't actually a chocolate bar..

That chocolate bar in the middle isn’t actually a chocolate bar..

To sum up the contents in 3 words: clothes, food, and makeup!

CLOTHES:

  1. A souvenir shirt from San Antonio (Texas, where the SUACONA Tipon was)
  2. Black denim jeans from Levi’s
  3. A pair of knee-length (school-appropriate, he says haha) shorts from The GAP

FOOD (these came mainly from Duty Free):

  1. Dairy Milk chocolate bars in Fruit & Nut and Whole Nut
  2. A huge Toblerone pack of 6
  3. A box of 6 Mary Grace ensaymadas (thank you Ate Imee!)
  4. A special tin of Almond Roca (which were Mama’s favorite candy, actually)
  5. A box of Goldkenn Chocolate Club Selection Praline & Dark rolled crispy crepes- think fancy chocolate-filled wafers

MAKEUP

  1. MAC Face Kit by Rebecca Moses in Plum
  2. Too Faced Chocolate Bar Eye Shadow Collection palette (my special request, not to mention something I’ve been lemming for over a year now)

I also managed to buy a few things for myself; one from Booksale and one from National Bookstore! I got a back issue of L’Uomo Vogue featuring G-DRAGON on the cover (how could I resist), and the book Besties by Solenn Heussaff and Georgina Wilson.

Here they are together!

Here they are together!


The next day was my actual birthday, July 6! I had lunch at Gabby’s again with my family, plus a friend – Ate Karen, with her husband Kuya Miguel.

It was really fun to have some good food and to have friends meet Papa. They got along really well! Not to mention I had 2 cakes – an ube roll from Ate Karen, plus a triple Twinkie cake from Papa:

Thanks to Ate Karen for the photo and for the cake!

Thanks to Ate Karen for the photo and for the cake!

I said triple Twinkie, right? Three Twinkies. :D

I said triple Twinkie, right? Three Twinkies. πŸ˜€

After lunch, Papa brought Lucille to school, Ate Karen went home, and Kuya Miguel went to work. I went to drop off cake and chocolate at Tita Choy’s house (whoΒ my nephew Matthew/Macho currently stays with) before catching up with Papa at RUSI. After he got his license plate for the motorcycle he bought, we went to Robinson’s for some Gong Cha milk tea and..

..a fish foot spa date!

The last time Papa was here, we tried the fish spa for the very first time. This time around, the lady attendant still remembered us! And because there weren’t any other customers, we could dip a foot each into a tank so the doctor fish could really get to work nibbling on our tired tootsies.

Aaaaaahhhhh.

Aaaaaahhhhh.

It feels really funny and ticklish at first (I couldn’tΒ butΒ help laugh out loud, really), but after a while it gets very soothing. Some of the bigger fish really get to nibbling!

What a way to celebrate a birthday!

What a way to celebrate a birthday!

You would normally sit there for 20 minutes while the fish get to working, but the attendant was nice enough to let us stay longer before she got to massaging our feet with lotion. I think she enjoyed our company. πŸ™‚

I still had class that afternoon, so after the fish spa we went to school. I had asked Papa to sit in the first class – Property, with Dean Maxino. Dean Mik and my dad are friends, so I figured it might better my chances at recitation (or the day’s class in general) if Papa was there. Hahaha! I think it was a little gift to my classmates as well. Speaking of gifts, we bought oatmeal cookies and chocolate crinkles form the cafeteria to share!

The SU Cafeteria has really, really good food and baked treats!

The SU Cafeteria has really, really good food and baked treats!

Papa and Dean Mik talked in the office for a while as my classmates and I studied for Property that day. Dean Mik usually comes in late so we get a bit of downtime before tension rises as he comes in to class. Hehe.

When Dean Mik came in, he said that someone would be giving an inspirational talk of sorts – and he called my dad up to the front. Hahaha! It was a surprise to all of us, even to Papa! But he’s done this sort of thing before – when I was in college, I cut a class so I could help with Papa’s slideshow at High School Career Day. He’s also never really tired of telling me stories about his practice throughout the years, so he knows a thing or two about inspirational talks. I think my classmates liked it. (Some of them have even said that they would rather have my dad teach at the college..)

Overall, I had a really good birthday!

xx Marianne

4 thoughts on “I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22– plus 2: My 24th birthday!

    • Hehehe thank you! I still have to take nice pictures first before I try out my Chocolate Bar.. not to mention wait for the brushes I ordered! First nice brush set rin kasi.. heehee. πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

