Review: MAC Face Kit by Rebecca Moses in Plum

Hello, lovelies! I finally got around to sorting out and watermarking photos, not to mention found time to actually write a bit. It’s a very welcome respite from the strains of law school life (sighs) so it’s nice to be writing about something of interest for once.

Today I’ll be reviewing one of my birthday loot bag presents from my dad: the MAC Face Kit by Rebecca Moses! I forgot where Papa said he bought this (I think at an outlet store?), but either way it’s nice to finally own a MAC palette.

It comes in a box sleeve.

It comes in a box sleeve.

Back of outer box sleeve.

Back of outer box sleeve.

The palette itself.

The palette itself.

As with all my other reviews, I usually comment first on the packaging. So here goes!

The palette comes in a box sleeve with Rebecca Moses’ illustrations grazing the front, and detailed instructions on the back for a smoky eye look. When slipped out of the sleeve, I noticed that the cover was actually wrapped in FABRIC! But what I like is that the fibers are tightly woven together so there’s little chance of fraying or snagging. I personally would still be cautious every time I use this palette because it would seem to get easily dirtied!

When opened, the palette looks like this:

Ain't it a beaut.

Ain’t it a beaut.

Here's a close-up!

Here’s a close-up!

(I like that the portion for the lipsticks have a protective plastic flap/lid!)

The MAC Illustrated Collection byΒ Rebecca Moses is actually a 2013 Nordstrom Exclusive release. This particular Face Kit in Plum contains a blush, 4 eyeshadows, 2 lipsticks, and a dual-ended brush. To itemize the palette a bit more precisely:

  • Mocha (powder blush, matte) – plum pink
  • Yogurt (eyeshadow, matte, ) – soft, pale pink
  • Plum Reduction (eyeshadow, satin, LE) – light satin brown
  • Romance Me (eyeshadow, lustre, LE) – warm plum with warm-toned pearl
  • Heather Belles (eyeshadow, satin, LE) – intense black
  • Blankety (lipstick, Amplified) – soft pink beige
  • Syrup (lipstick, Lustre) – cloudy pink
  • Dual-ended brush (275SE/316SE)

Here’s the colours swatched on my inner forearm:

20150715_145608

L-R: Mocha, Yogurt, Plum Reduction, Romance Me, Heather Belles, Blankety, Syrup

Notice that I kind of had to layer on the swatches thickly? All the shadows apply rather sheerly, which I disliked at first – but it allows you to build up colour and coverage so I guess it isn’t a bad thing after all. Though I do wish Heather Belles was a tad more opaque so I wouldn’t have to keep dipping my brush into it!

I tried doing the suggested smoky eye as indicated on the box sleeve, and this is the result:

Obviously I put no other makeup on. Hahaha!

Obviously I put no other makeup on. Hahaha!

I didn’t put on the blush because I hadn’t prepped my face. I really just wanted to try the eye look, hahaha! I know I need a lot more work when it comes to application and blending so give it some time. πŸ˜€ (Also, I finally got a decent brush set! But that’ll be in another blog post, so please anticipate it!)

I wasn’t able to take lip swatch photos because I didn’t like how they looked. Blankety makes me look sick, and Syrup closely resembles my natural lip colour so it just looks like I have gloss on..

I didn’t use the included dual-ended brush yet because it’s too small for my hands. Sorry! (The fibers are soft, though!)

____

The girl likes that..
β˜† ..the shadows are soft and buttery.
β˜† ..the colours are buildable.
β˜† ..the palette itself is pretty much a one-stop shop, so good for travel!
β˜† ..the shadows can take you from day to night – just smoke out for a sultry evening look!

The girl dislikes that..
β–‘ ..Heather Belles tends to apply quite patchy.
β–‘ ..Blankety is too pale for my skintone.
β–‘ ..I have to keep dipping my brush to build up colour, so if you’re pressed for time and you are an eyeshadow noob (like me), maybe not best to make a smoky eye..

The girl rates it..
..an 8/10!

Overall, I like the portability of this Face Kit. The eyeshadow shades as well as the blush appeal to me a lot (because my favourite colour is purple), and I can see myself using the shadows in a variety of looks. The downside is that the lipsticks just don’t fit me! I would have preferred something deeper.

Thank you for reading my wonky review! πŸ˜€

xx Marianne

Leave a Reply

